Medical Needs and Hospital Education Service

Medical Needs and Hospital Education Service

Who we are

Our provision is available for all children of compulsory school age residing in the Bradford local authority area, who cannot attend school because of illness and health problems. The Local Authority is responsible for arranging suitable education for these pupils who would not otherwise have a suitable education. 

We provide education for pupils admitted to the wards of AGH and BRI as well as pupils unable to attend their school due to ongoing medical issues. 

What we offer

The service offers the following: based on an individual assessmment of needs and what their helath conditions will allow

  • Group education
  • Paired education
  • 1:1 education
  • Outreach Education (at school, home or other appropriate place i.e Library) 
  • Remote learning 
  • Learning work packs
  • 1:1 education at AGH and BRI childrens ward 

The number of hours offered is dependent on the indivdual's health needs, there is no legal definition of full time education and if children receive 1:1 or paired tuition for example: the hours of face to face provision could be fewer as the provision is more concentrated. 

Our main aim is for the child to keep up with their education and then transition to full time education in a mainstream school or otherwise dependent on need. This may be a transition to a Post -16 provision. 

Where are we based 

  • 21 Owlet Road, Shipley, BD18 2LU - Telephone 01274 582995
  • Ward 17 at Airedale Hospital 
  • Ward 30 and 32 at BRI Hospital 

 

Management

 Service Manager        Hannah Whittaker   hannah.whittaker@bradford.gov.uk
 Business Support Manager  Claire Wright   claire.wright@bradford.gov.uk or mnhesoffice@bradford.gov.uk
 Designated Safeguarding Lead   Ceri Forbes  ceri.forbes@bradford.gov.uk

 

 

 

AGH and BRI Hospital Education Provision 

The Hospital education provision team includes two Teachers in Charge and two Learning Support Assistants.

Central contact: 

  • Airedale Hospital - aghhospital@mnhes.org.uk
  • Bradford Royal Infirmary - brihospital@mnhes.org.uk
 Teacher in Charge   Sarfraz Nawaz  sarfraz.nawaz@bradford.gov.uk
 Teacher in Charge   Lesley Wallace        lesley.wallace@bradford.gov.uk

 

Medical Needs Education

The medical needs education team provide education based on Key Stage

 Primary Team Leader  Ruth Murney        ruth.murney@bradford.gov.uk
 KS3 Team Leader   Mina Mistry  minakumari.mistry@bradford.gov.uk
 KS4 Team Leader  Gabrielle Murray  gabrielle.murray@bradford.gov.uk

 

We work closely with schools to ensure children continue and keep up to date with their education. Schools can refer to our service using the following referral form:

MNHES Referral Form 2021


Page owned by Claire Wright, last updated on 25/02/2021. This page has been viewed 131 times.