Social Emotional Mental Health (SEMH)

Social Emotional Mental Health (SEMH)


In response to the current school closures due to the Coronavirus outbreak, the SCIL specialist teaching team have suggested some resources and activities to support children and young people with Special Educational Needs in the home.

 

These resources are specifically designed to support children with  Social Emotional and Mental Health needs.

The resources are organised into the following categories:

  • Managing feelings

  • Relaxation

  • Supporting behaviour

  • Things to do

  • Understanding Coronavirus


Managing Feelings

Angry Birds

                 Angry bird Book   Angry bird poster   Cool down strategies

My angry chart

Anxiety coping skills

My worries and how I handle them

Calming activities

Resources to support children who are angry

Cooling down - letting off steam

Stressometer

Differentiated feelings wheel

Top ten tips for building emotional resilience

Feelings work scrapbook plan

What are my worries

My anger warning signs

 

 


Relaxation

Body-Relaxation (ADHD)

Sleep grid

Breathing to relax - instructions

Star-breathing

Sensory bottle

Take time to think and calm down

 


Supporting behaviour

Be calm and specific language

Scripts

Calm box information

Stories that never stand still (ADHD)

Challenging Behaviour

Top tips for young people with SEMH at home

Out of the ordinary

 

 


Things to do

Days out with children

I'm amazing because

Funny things

Motor skills programme

Go for a walk

 

 


Understanding Coronavirus

Cartoon to explain the virus

Small Paul by Josh Massy

 


Contact Information


Address: City of Bradford MDC, Children's Services, 0-25 SEND Inclusive Education Service

3rd Floor Margaret McMillan Tower, Princes Way, BRADFORD, West Yorkshire BD1 1NN

 Please call Admin for general enquiries only on 01274 439500.

All queries for a teacher please call on the numbers below, if they are out on appointments please leave a message to receive a call back.  NB all calls goo direct to their work mobiles via the numbers below.

 

MEET THE TEAM - Social Emotional Mental Health (SEMH)

Name

Position

Email

Tel:

Sara Burgess

Lead Specialist Teacher

sara.burgess@bradford.gov.uk

01274 439338

Justine Burnhill

Specialist Teacher (part time)

justine.burnhill@bradford.gov.uk

01274 439332

David Chadwick

Specialist Teacher (Full time)

david.chadwick@bradford.gov.uk

01274 439317

Amanda Aldin

Specialist Teacher (part time)

amanda.aldin@bradford.gov.uk

01274 439327

Anna Robinson

Specialist Teacher (part time)

Anna.Robinson@bradford.gov.uk

01274 439324

Martina Woodworth

Specialist Teacher (part time)

martina.woodworth@bradford.gov.uk

01274 436320

Rebecca Hayward

Specialist Teacher (part time)

rebecca.hayward@bradford.gov.uk

01274 439337

Sharon Carr

Specialist Teacher (part time)

Sharon.carr@bradford.gov.uk

01274 439339

 


 

 


Page owned by Fiona Whitaker, last updated on 26/03/2020. This page has been viewed 893 times.