Medical Needs and Hospital Education Service & S19 Provision

Medical Needs and Hospital Education Service & S19 Provision

Medical Needs and Hospital Education Service (MNHES)

Who we are

Our provision is available for all children of compulsory school age residing in the Bradford Local Authority area who cannot attend school because of illness and health needs. The Local Authority is responsible for arranging suitable education for these pupils who would not otherwise have a suitable education. 

We also provide education for pupils admitted to the Children's Wards of AGH and BRI as well as pupils who receive regular treatment at either hospital.

What we offer

The service offers education based on an individual assessment of needs and what their health conditions will allow. This includes:

  • Group education
  • Paired education
  • 1:1 education (in severe medical cases)
  • Outreach education (in severe medical cases) 
  • Remote learning/online learning 
  • Learning work packs
  • 1:1 education at AGH and BRI Children's Wards 

The number of hours offered is dependent on the individual's health needs. 5 hours of Maths and English are offered, along with other curriculum areas to create a full time offer if the pupil's health need allows. MNHES Curriculum Offer 23/24

Our main aim is for the child to continue with their education and then transition to full time education in a mainstream school or otherwise dependent on need. This may be a transition to a Post -16 provision. 

Where are we based 

  • 21 Owlet Road, Shipley, BD18 2LU - Telephone 01274 582995
  • Ward 17 at Airedale General Hospital 
  • Ward 12, 30 and 32 at Bradford Royal Infirmary 

S19 Provision

Who we are

Our S19 Provision is a temporary education provision for those pupils with complex Special Educational Needs who are new to country or area whilst appropriate and effective educational provision is established

This is a full time provision for 8-12 pupils for a time limited period 

What we offer

The service offers the following based on an individual assessment of needs 

  • Small group education with a specialist SEND teacher, HLTAs & LSAs 
  • Individual and personalised curriculum based on needs
  • Close liaison with the Local Authority SEN Team to ensure appropriate provision based on need

Our main aim is for the child to be provided with an outstanding social and academic education to enable them to successfully transition to a permanent and appropriate education setting. This may be a transition to a Post -16 provision. 

Where are we based 

  • 21 Owlet Road, Shipley, BD18 2LU - Telephone 01274 582995 

MNHES Flyer

 

Senior Leadership Team 

 Hannah Whittaker   Service Manager        hannah.whittaker@bradford.gov.uk
 Claire Wright              Business Support Manager   claire.wright@bradford.gov.uk
 Waqass Khalid            Welfare Officer   waqass.khalid@bradford.gov.uk
 Stephanie Cordingley                 S19 Teacher in Charge        stephanie.cordingley@bradford.gov.uk
 Sarfraz Nawaz     Hospital Teacher in Charge

 sarfraz.nawaz@bradford.gov.uk  or

 aghhospital@mnhes.org.uk   brihospital@mnhes.org.uk

 Lesley Wallace   ED Team  Teacher in Charge  lesley.wallace@bradford.gov.uk
 Ruth Murney   Primary, Year 7&8 Team Leader   ruth.murney@bradford.gov.uk
 Robert Holladay             Year 9&10 Team Leader                 robert.holladay@bradford.gov.uk
 Gabrielle Murray             Year 11 Team Leader   gabrielle.murray@bradford.gov.uk

MNHES Team Visual 2324

We work closely with schools to ensure children continue and keep up to date with their education. Schools can refer to our service using the following referral form:

MNHES Referral Form

 

Policies 

Bradford MNHES & S19 Policy 23/24

 

Safeguarding Team 

KS3/4 Team Leader/Interim Designated Safeguarding Lead  Robert Holladay robert.holladay@bradford.gov.uk
Welfare Officer/Deputy Safeguarding Lead Waqass Khalid           waqass.khalid@bradford.gov.uk

Service Manager/Deputy Safeguarding Lead 

Hannah Whittaker 

hannah.whittaker@bradford.gov.uk

Business Support Manager/Deputy Safeguarding Lead

 Claire Wright 

claire.wright@bradford.gov.uk or mnhesoffice@bradford.gov.uk

Teacher in Charge/Deputy Safeguarding Lead  Stephanie Cordingley stephanie.cordingley@bradford.gov.uk

The MNHES Panel for hearing referrals is usually held every 2 or 3 weeks (twice per half term). All information needs to be submitted to mnhesreferrals@bradford.gov.uk by the previous Wednesday in order for cases to be heard. MNHES do hold Emergency Panels if necessary.

MNHES Panels will be held:

20/05/24

17/06/24

01/07/24


Page owned by Lucy Stead, last updated on 23/04/2024. This page has been viewed 21,817 times.