Useful Resources for Home Learning

Useful Resources for Home Learning

Throughout these difficult times the Virtual School will continue to support schools to promote learning at home and maintaining routines for Children Looked After.  Here are a few ideas for home learning.

Activity and Learning websites

Your child’s school may use websites and learning platforms and your child may have been issued with login details to access these. Some examples are: 

 

The websites below have creative ideas, educational, games and lots of activity ideas

 

Early Years

Audible – Free while schools are closed for kids to listen to stories.

http://stories.audible.com

 

Imagination Tree- https://theimaginationtree.com/

CBeebies- https://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies

CBeebies Radio- https://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies/radio

Messy Little Monster - https://www.messylittlemonster.com

Preschool Inspirations - https://preschoolinspirations.com

Teach Preschool- https://teachpreschool.org

Red Ted Art- www.redtedart.com

Music with Nancy- https://youtu.be/egt_2WBjeOM
 

 

Primary

The maths factor by Carol Vorderman is free of charge until schools open and is targeted for children aged 4-11 years old.  https://www.themathsfactor.com

Audible – Free while schools are closed for kids to listen to stories.

http://stories.audible.com

Activity Village - https://www.activityvillage.co.uk/

BBC Bitesize- http://www.bbc.co.uk/learning/coursesearch/

British Council- https://www.britishcouncil.org/school-resources/find

 

Children’s University of Manchester - https://www.childrensuniversity.manchester.ac.uk/

Mystery Science- https://www.mysteryscience.com

Nature Detectives- https://naturedetectives.woodlandtrust.org.uk/naturedetectives/

National Geographic Kids- https://www.natgeokids.com/uk/

Oxford Owl for Home- https://www.oxfordowl.co.uk/for-home/

Scouts- https://www.scouts.org.uk/the-great-indoors/

Scholastic- http://www.scholastic.com

Ted Ed- https://ed.ted.com

The Kids Should See This- https://thekidshouldseethis.com

Vooks- http://www.vooks.com

 
 

Secondary and Careers

Audible have released lots of audio books for free, no need to sign up or anything. Just click this link to get started- https://stories.audible.com/start-listen

Ed Place - A revision app that covers the curriculum up to GCSE’s with exam style questions and practice papers.

Khan Academy have some free resources during closures- https://www.khanacademy.org

CGP Books- https://www.cgpbooks.co.uk

CPG also have some online resources to go with the CPG revision books for all subjects and year groups at this link- https://www.cgpbooks.co.uk/resources/studying-from-home-during-coronavirus  

GCSE Pod-  https://www.gcsepod.com/

Scholastic - https://classroommagazines.scholastic.com/support/learnathome.html

Top Marks- https://www.topmarks.co.uk

Twinkl- https://www.twinkl.com/offer    Code: UKTWINKLHELPS for 1-month free resources

 

Secondary Maths

BBC Bitesize- https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/subjects/z38pycw

Corbett Maths- https://corbettmaths.com

Maths Duck- http://www.mathsduck.co.uk/

Maths Made Easy- https://mathsmadeeasy.co.uk/gcse-maths-revision/

Maths is Fun- https://www.mathsisfun.com

White Rose Maths Home Resources go from year 1 to year 8 at the moment but they are adding more year groups- https://whiterosemaths.com/homelearning/

 

Secondary Science

The University of Reading Virtual Experiments- https://www.reading.ac.uk/virtualexperiments/experiments.html

Chemistry Interactive Simulations- http://employees.oneonta.edu/viningwj/sims/

CK-12 Exploration Series- https://interactives.ck12.org/simulations/chemistry.html

GCSEScienceRevsion.com- https://www.gcsesciencerevision.com/equations

 

English

BBC Bitesize- https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/subjects/zckw2hv

Free Classic books are available at- Researchify.co.uk/audiobooks.html

The Literacy Shed- Literacyshed.com

 

Languages

BBC Bitesize Modern Foreign Languages- https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/subjects/zhsvr82

Duolingo is an app with bite size online lessons that teaches up to 36 languages including French and English.

Mon Quotidien- https://monquotidien.playbacpresse.fr has French news at secondary level

S-Cool- https://www.s-cool.co.uk/gcse/french for French revision

                                                                                                            

Arts/Creativity

Bob Ross painting lessons on YouTube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxcnsr1R5Ge_fbTu5ajt8DQ

Google Arts and Culture- https://artsandculture.google.com/

Just Dance videos on YouTube

Yoga with Adriene– this is a yoga YouTube video for teens https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7kgZnJqzNaU

 

Career and Y11’s post 16

Here's a list of resources that parents and carers could use with students when looking at career aspirations.

Buzz Personality Profile- https://icould.com/buzz-quiz/

This is an excellent source of Labour Market Information for the Leeds City Region. It includes career overviews and routes in for the major fields of work in the area:

https://futuregoals.co.uk/careerstarters/

And these are some basic but effective activities around career awareness:

https://www.tes.com/teaching-resource/quick-starters-activities-for-careers-lessons-6334127

 

 

Further Guidance and Useful Documents

Support for Parents following School Closures due to  COVID-19 (coronavirus)

Ministers Open Letter to the SEND sector

Touchbase - Support through this season

Touchbase - Five top tips for adoptive parents and carers

 

 


Page owned by Joanne Henry, last updated on 25/03/2020. This page has been viewed 200 times.